Hunger Nerd Games : HNG 8 and Me.

Hunger Nerd Games : HNG 8 and Me.

Creating a web, Literally.

Pay no mind to the headline, that was a clever attempt to summarize the stories I have heard about HNG into one word. And to be honest, from what I've heard, It is not too far from the experience of the popular American dystopian series, but I digress. Anyways, this article is going flat, and I think I'm losing you, so let's bump it up a little bit.

So here is the thing, I am not entirely new to software development, or to the attempt of learning it, I wrote an article when starting earlier in the year. Did I stick to the promises I made to myself? Did I eventually fall in love with software development? or am I just another case of a burned-out newbie who now has nasty things to say about his estranged partner, programming?. Well, this is not a 1 or 0 response kind of question. And between making hasty decisions to join a startup and severally doubting my abilities to become a software developer, I think I have done quite well for myself, but alas, something was missing.

Which is where HNG comes in, but what was missing? Well, just so you know, one of the most troubling phases for a newbie, self-taught (some cloud of judgment around this term) software developer is the time between when you think you are ready for the job market and when you land your first entry role job. Whist the TTEL (Time To Entry Level) for some might be 3 months, for some, it takes just a little longer. Why, you might ask, and believe me this has nothing to do with proficiency, but the amount of network you can tap into is a greater factor for your TTEL. Yes!!!, that was the missing piece, network. And so, while I focused immensely on the technical side of things, I might have overlooked (albeit ignorantly) the importance of connecting with people in the tech ecosystem.

Therefore, I am trying to retrace my steps, using HNG as a Calvary point, hoping that this time, I meet and make friends with tons of people planning on embarking on this lifetimes journey as a web developer. Therefore, when you ask me what I want from HNG, networking comes top of the list for me, and regardless of the outcome of the internship, I sure know the metrics with which I am going to measure my input. So, what are you waiting for, help me achieve my goal by connecting with me on twitter. You can take a look at my works on Github and see if we have interests and regardless of the our interest, let's also connect on the inspire to maguire platform, LinkedIn. See you around.

Hey, here are some articles I wrote in the course of learning web development that I think you will find helpful. I also added some from other developers/designers that I consider helpful.

  1. Want to set up CI/CD for your projects, then check this one.
  2. This one is for backend folks and it's about databases for your side projects.
  3. This one is for the designers, it gives insights about improving your design skills, highly recommend for developers too.
  4. Basically Git stuff and how you can learn the most used ones.
  5. This beautiful write-up has hidden gems and provides insights about HTML tags, +1 recommendation.
  6. Oh!, promises, you will hate it, know it, then love it. This article talks about what happens internally when you write promises..